amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research

amfAR Honor Roll

Courage Honorees 

amfAR's awards are bestowed each year on select individuals in recognition of the vision, determination, and courage that mark them as leaders in the fight against AIDS.

2011 – Inspiration Gala Sao Paulo 

Francisco Costa



2011 – New York Gala

President Bill Clinton
Dame Elizabeth Taylor
Diane von Furstenberg



2010 – San Francisco Gala

Marcia and John Goldman
Michael Tilson Thomas



2010 – Two by Two for AIDS and Art

Christopher Wool



2010 – Inspiration Gala Paris

Jean-Paul Gaultier



2010 – Inspiration Gala New York

Jean-Paul Gaultier
Ricky Martin



2010 – New York Gala

Yves Carcelle
Sir Elton John and David Furnis


2009- San Francisco Gala

Stephen Brady
Peter Poulos  


2009 - Honoring with Pride

Lady Bunny
Patricia Field
Cleve Jones 


2009 - New York Gala

Donna Karan
Liza Minnelli
Howard and Cindy Rachofsky


2008 - San Francisco Gala

Mervyn F. Silverman, M.D., M.P.H.
Dita von Teese 



2008 - Honoring with Pride

Julie Davids
Kiehl’s Since 1851
Jerry Mitchell 


2008 - New York Gala

Carine Roitfeld
Julian Schnabel
Bobby Shriver 


2007 - Honoring with Pride

David Barr
Liz Smith
Barbara Starrett, M.D. 


2007 - San Francisco Fall Gala

Sandra R. Hernández, M.D.
Lisa Sardegna
Timothy C. Wu 


2007 - New York Gala

John Demsey
Whoopi Goldberg
William H. Roedy 


2006 - Honoring with Pride

David Bohnett
Florent Morellet
Peter van Rooijen 


2005 - Honoring with Pride

Theresa McGovern, J.D.
Howard Grossman, M.D.
Andrew Tobias 


2004 - Honoring with Pride

Zackie Achmat
Jonathan S. Canno
Tony Kushner 


2003 - Honoring with Pride

Harvey Fierstein
Sister Mary Elisabeth, OSM
Daniel J. Osheyack 


2002 - Honoring with Pride

Moisés Agosto-Rosario
Kenneth H. Mayer, M.D.
Urvashi Vaid
Tim Westmoreland 


2001 - Honoring with Pride

Martin Delaney
Martin Markowitz, M.D.
Melanie A. Thompson, M.D.
Phill Wilson 


2000 - Honoring with Pride

Donald I. Abrams, M.D.
Cornelius Baker
Matthew Coles, Esq.
Anne-christine D'Adesky
Nan D. Hunter, Esq.
Larry Kramer
William B. Rubenstein, Esq.
Joseph Sonnabend, M.D.
Peter Staley